How Often Do You Think About Your #lifewith3M?


As of this writing, I’m nearly 46 years old, and I can’t think of a time in my life when I didn’t know who 3M was. I’m sure Scotch tape was the first product of theirs that I encountered, but I’ve probably used Post-its more than anything else.

I know what you’re thinking: “Why are you writing about this, Jim? WHO CARES about your history with 3M products?!”

I get it. I didn’t care either until a few minutes ago when a friend sent me an article about how 3M has attracted 121,000 followers on Twitter! They recently kicked off their global brand campaign at a hipster music festival (South by Southwest in Austin) with the hashtag “#lifewith3M“. A recent tweet said nothing more than “At 3M, #science is at the heart of everything we do. #LifeWith3M” and a picture of a person’s labcoat-clad arms and torso pulling test tubes from a box with his or her purple-gloved hands. In a week, it’s garnered 220 retweets and 411 favorites!

“Okay, Jim, that’s great, but what’s your man got to do with me?

Everything. And I can sum it up with one question: If a “boring” brand like 3M can get a 6-figure sum of followers and over 200 retweets with over 400 favorites of a ridiculously simple line, why can’t you?

Here’s the Forbes article my friend sent me:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/quickerbettertech/2015/04/13/boring-brands-can-crush-social-media-and-5-other-things-you-can-learn-from-3m/

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

